This website uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Mauritania

Mauritania is made up of 14 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Mauritania. Information on all primary administrative regions in Mauritania.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Mauritania alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Mauritania

There are 14 regions in Mauritania in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Mauritania
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Adrar Adrar1.59,670Atar Atar24,021
Assaba Assaba2.285,142Kiffa Kiffa40,281
Brakna Brakna3.256,827Aleg Aleg15,211
Dakhlet Nouadhibou Dakhlet Nouadhibou4.80,181Nouadhibou Nouâdhibou72,337
Gorgol Gorgol5.274,337Kaedi Kaédi55,374
Guidimaka Guidimaka6.219,674Selibaby Sélibaby18,424
Hodh ech Chargui Hodh ech Chargui7.298,625Nema Néma60,000
Hodh El Gharbi Hodh El Gharbi8.243,246Aioun Aioun12,635
Inchiri Inchiri9.11,500Akjoujt Akjoujt11,500
Nouakchott District de Nouakchott10.709,856Tevragh Zeina Tevragh Zeina-
Nouakchott District de Nouakchott11.709,856Nouakchott Nouakchott661,400
Tagant Tagant12.64,808Tidjikja Tidjikja6,000
Tiris Zemmour Tiris Zemmour13.63,306Zouerate Zouerate38,000
Trarza Wilaya du Trarza14.269,946Rosso Rosso48,922